The dreaded call…

I’d like to preface this post by saying that, as a high school student, I was–am–completely unfamiliar with how to be “professional.”

I had encountered this previously when I had to send emails to teachers, businesses, what-have-you’s. If the tone of the message had to be formal, then I was going to have a hard time writing it. You cannot be friendly, the person you’re writing to is not a friend. But being terse and distant is a tricky thing–too cold and detached and you come off as a, for lack of a less colorfull term, a jerk.

So here I am about to make my call, anxious over how to communicate that I’m a pretty friendly guy without sounding like an idiot. After a moment (or two) of hesitation I press the send button. Ring…. ring…. Hello?

And from there it went fine. I was stressing about nothing. Al, my contact/mentor/general superior was great. Really nice. Really friendly. My voice didn’t even crack. I set an appointment for the next Thursday and that was that.

About dash1224

Student at Sir Francis Drake High School in the SEA-DISC Academy. Writing about my internship at the Romberg Tiburon Center for Environmental Studies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

